Sathyamurthi's Blog

February 5, 2012

Anger Management …

Filed under: Chennai, Road Safety — Sathyamurthi Thambusamy @ 5:29 pm

I think if one were to  ask anyone who has known me for a period of more than 3 months to list top three attributes about me, I am pretty sure 90%+ folks would have a variation of “he has a short fuse” in the top three.  I recollect being this way from my late teens (I guess some of this runs in the family) but it is rare that I get physical. I still remember when I slapped my best friend in school when he made not so good remark about one my favorite teachers but those are rare (I do not even recollect others) . The closest I have come to harming anyone is when I get mad while driving. To combat unruly drivers in Chennai roads, I have turned into an aggressive , no holds bar driver (who really does not care about physical damage to his own car) and never yield an inch   and I generally yield if someone is more aggressive than me (my logic is if someone can drive crazier than me, more power to them)!

But at the same time I believe I do not drive recklessly (anyhow its my definition of recklessness !) …

Few months back there was 360 degree review at work one of the common comments was I get angry, when read it, I was like  “Sure, why not- I am like that, that is how I have been and I will continue to be …” But after some introspection I thought if there one thing that folks who work with or know me would prefer me to do, is get less angry or do not show my anger. Its generally tough for me to act, so I made a decision to try and work on this aspect. I am constantly coaching myself about a situation I could have handled differently and not gotten mad. I am not at point where I can claim success but at least I am confident there will be some change …

One area where I am not able to do anything is about getting mad while driving , though I adopt various techniques to drive to work / return when there is less traffic, I have not been able to figure out a way to control my emotions while driving.  So I have made a decision to not drive my car to work (unless I need it for some other reason) and take company shuttle everyday (it stops right in front of my apartment) and return every day in shuttle or use public transport (after 8pm crowd is reasonable and I do not care if I sweat or my dress gets crumbled in the evening).

I guess this solves two issues – I always feel guilty about driving a car alone for the 5km commute to work and amount pollution I am causing and the 90% of my car driving time is due to commute to/from work, so by cutting down on my driving, I have less opportunity to get angry.

I may fail to keep up on this but so what at-least I would have tried …

2 Comments »

  1. […] a week of writing about my decision to not drive to work everyday in Anger Management, here is the update and […]

    Pingback by Anger Management – 2 « Sathyamurthi's Blog — February 12, 2012 @ 3:41 pm

  2. Sathya,

    Good blog, I never read, this is the first one read, and thought interesting to continue reading. good thing in this blog is impatient to drive from home to office, its true, I live in Medavakkam and commute to Navallur which is 17 KM, I feel my anger increased with the regular drive.

    Let me try alernative by taking bus or biking.

    Comment by Rajan — February 13, 2012 @ 12:44 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

